Penguin Black Classics: Black Shack Alley
Books

Penguin Black Classics: Black Shack Alley

by Zobel, Joseph

Following in the tradition of Richard Wright's Black Boy, Joseph Zobel's semi-autobiographical 1950 novel Black Shack Alley chronicles the coming-of-age of José, a young boy grappling with issues of power and identity in colonial Martinique. As José transitions from childhood to young adulthood and from rural plantations to urban Fort-de-France on a quest for upward mobility, he bears witness to and struggles against the various manifestations of white supremacy, both subtle and overt, that will alter the course of his life. His ally in this struggle is his grandmother, M'man Tine, who fights her own weariness to release at least one child from the plantation village, a dirt street lined with the shacks of sugarcane workers. Zobel's masterpiece, the basis for the award-winning film Sugar Cane Alley, is a powerful testament to twentieth-century life in Martinique, with a foreword by award-winning Martinican author Patrick Chamoiseau.


Status: Available For Purchase

Regular price
SGD 29.43
Sale price
SGD 29.43
Regular price
SGD 29.43
Unit price
per 
Tax included.
**Only 1 left in stock.

Delivered within 5 business days

Product Details

  • Number of Pages : 256
  • Publisher : Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Publication Date : 2020-12-05
  • Weight : 227g
  • Product Code : 9780143133957

About Author

Zobel, Joseph

Joseph Zobel was born in 1915 in Petit-Bourg, Martinique. He has published many collections of stories and a volume of verse, Incantation pour un retour au pays natal. His novel La fete a Paris is the continuation of La rue cases-negres (translated as Black Shack Alley). A noted poet and a gifted sculptor as well as a writer, Zobel retired to a small village in southern France in 1974 and died in 2006.